My dream is to change children’s lives through love.

January 3, 2010

Today I have spent hours (literally) browsing various websites for non-profits like World Vision and Preemptive Love Coalition. I felt like I was drowning in a sea of beautiful children’s faces. There are just so many of them, and I feel so helpless to reach them. Dave and I plan to begin supporting one of these organizations monthly, but that ~$30 seems like a drop in the bucket when you see how great the need is.

I’ve known for years that I wanted to work with children, but I’ve also discovered that the full-time nanny thing is not for me. I am also pretty confident that I’m not called to teach in a school (public or private). What does that leave me with? I can’t imagine ever landing the kind of dream job that the people at World Vision or PLC have. If I were still single, I could apply for a summer internship, but I’m not.

I feel so aimless. I am passionate about serving children in need, but I have no idea how to  do that without sponsoring 10+ kids a month and causing us to go into debt. Ideas?

2 Responses to “My dream is to change children’s lives through love.”

  1. jess said

    Oh, buddy. There are so many kids right down the road from the church that could use your love. As small and insignificant as it seems, you showing up once or twice a week in a classroom (like T’s!) and sticking it out for the long haul will teach those kids so much about the Father’s love. There are kids so near you that need someone to tutor them, love them, sing to them, read them a Bible story, show up.

    What about something like Big Brothers/Big Sisters? Or starting a Bible study at your local Y?

  2. I simply wished to say thanks once again. I am not sure what I would have gone through in the absence of the type of advice shown by you about my problem. Previously it was the traumatic concern in my position, nevertheless spending time with your skilled fashion you dealt with it took me to jump for happiness. I will be happier for the advice and in addition wish you know what an amazing job you have been doing teaching the rest by way of your webpage. Probably you have never come across any of us.

Leave a Reply

