‘Twas an ugly day in Bethland.

December 22, 2009

There are a lot of things that need changing in my life. A short list, on the spot, compiled in thirty seconds or less–GO!

  1. I need to actually use the elliptical that we bought two months ago.
  2. I need to stop eating junk.
  3. I need to read my Bible diligently.
  4. I need to pray.
  5. I need to get away from people and noise on a regular basis.
  6. I need to do laundry more often.

Okay, I’ll leave it at that for now. But you do see my problem, don’t you? I am lazy. It’s an ugly word that no one wants to apply to themselves, but in my case it’s true. I would rather find the easiest way to do things or just not do them at all. It seems to be working to my advantage until my spiritual, mental, emotional, and physical health all go down the crapper. And that’s the point I’ve reached now.

I’ve got to muster up the resolve to do what’s right for me. I always felt a little weird about the anti-drugs, anti-promiscuous sex, anti-junk food campaign that youth groups and Christian school have waged with the “your-body-is-the-temple-of-the-Holy-Spirit” spiel. However, I have reluctantly come to the conclusion that it is a valid point, even if it’s overused.

If the Holy Spirit makes his home in me, then it is in our best interests that I take care of myself. Our “home life” will be chaotic, discordant, and just plain lacking if I don’t. [Interjectory note: I feel silly using italics constantly for emphasis.] But if I am careful to attend to my health (in all areas), then I be able to enjoy communion and union with God in a much deeper way.

That richer life in “the Vine” has been calling loudly to me all day. The question is: do I want it bad enough to stop being lazy?

Leave a Reply

