Prompted

December 20, 2009

Well, apparently I’m not allowed to slack off or Jess will call me out on it. Geez. Tough love is not my favorite.

Still, I guess I’ll respond to her writing prompt: What is the area you’ve grown the most in your relationship with God in 2009?

This question is extremely hard for me to answer because I feel like I haven’t improved at all as a Christian. My faith was so much stronger when I was pregnant, but it has gradually become less and less real. My belief that God loves me and takes care of me has become something I know in my head but not my heart. It just seems like this year was a giant leap backwards in some ways.

In other ways, I know I have learned a lot about God and myself. But unless I’ve made visible improvement, I don’t allow it to count. I know that I should be thrilled about seeing more of God and understanding myself better, but it just makes me sad that I haven’t made more progress.

I want to see things differently, though. I want to be excited about what I’ve learned this year, even if no one else can see any upward movement in my life. I want to trust that these small changes in my mindset and outlook are monumental in my walk with God.

Father, help me not to rush what you’re doing in me.

Leave a Reply

