Life Worth Living

December 14, 2009

You see, Moses gave us rules to live by, but Jesus the Liberating King offered the gifts of grace and truth which make life worth living.
John 1:17 (The Voice)

A couple things in particular struck me about this verse from John:

  1. There is no indication that the rules are abolished, but
  2. Jesus gives us the grace and truth necessary to live fuller and better lives beyond just being “good”.

This is the kind of life I long for deep inside of me. When I read this, I get excited in a desperate sort of way, as if I am saying, “Oh, God, please show me what this looks like! I don’t want to spend the rest of my life just trying to follow the rules, be the ‘good kid’, and never let anyone down. More than anything, I want to experience this freedom you’re talking about. Please let it be true for me!”

I believe that God gives us rules to structure our lives (both spiritually and physically). This enables us to serve him well. But I think he also wants us to live fulfilled lives of freedom. This is not freedom from obedience but freedom from our own self-judgment. When we allow ourselves to be set free, we can rest from the endless striving.

In a sense, John is saying that following God’s rules is good and right, but there it more to life than just that. Sure, we’re supposed to be obedient, but we should also take the gifts that Jesus is offering us. Through these blessings of grace and truth, our lives become meaningful and joyful.

This is the quality of life–the very finest–that God desires for us, and it is so much more that rule-keeping.

Leave a Reply

