The Problem of Pain

December 13, 2009

Well, I just got home from babysitting, and I am thoroughly exhausted. As I climbed into bed a few minutes ago, it dawned on me that I hadn’t blogged yet today. Technically, it’s not “today” anymore, but I’m here.

Today I’ve been thinking a lot about the pain we all experience. Between sickness and bad relationships and inner “demons”, it’s amazing that we make it through each day. My mom, in particular, has been on my mind. She has recently (for the past two or three months) been struck by sudden and debilitating migraines on at least a weekly basis. It’s been getting a lot worse, though. She’s unable to do anything or go anywhere without the distinct possibility of one of these “spells” coming on. She’s been to the neurologist several times about it, but nothing seeming to be fixing the problem; it just keeps coming back, more intense every time. She feels exhausted and defeated, and I know she cries a lot about it.

It occurred to me that migraines, depression, wars, predator/prey relationships, natural disasters–they’re all just proof of our brokenness. But on the flip-side of that, they speak to us of the way things should be. We know that all of this, all of us, everything, was made for something far better, something that God could pronounce good. With this knowledge, we can become cynical or we can have hope.

If you have time, please pray for my mom. She has a close relationship with the Lord, so I know she’s praying about this too. Still, ask God to sustain her hope and that, ultimately, she will be healed. Whoever you are, I thank you. Your prayers are so precious to me.

Leave a Reply

